Skip to main content

Barwon Health / Research

(03) 4215 0000

Clinical Trials

Barwon Health has been conducting clinical trial research for more than 25 years. Our longevity and success is thanks to thousands of volunteers, who dedicate their time to support research and improve the health of our region and future generations.

Numerous studies have demonstrated better clinical outcomes for clinical trial participants irrespective of treatment allocation (active intervention or control group) because of the expert monitoring and treatment they receive as part of the clinical trial.

For more information about clinical trials in specific therapeutic areas, please contact the trial unit manager.

Clinical Trial Unit Managers 

Cardiology

Karen Fogarty 
Ph (03) 4215 1033
karenfo@barwonhealth.org.au 

Endocrinology / Diabetes / Infectious Diseases/ Vaccines 

Alana Sarah & Bree Sarah
Ph (03) 4215 2876 / (03) 4215 2875
alanas@barwonhealth.org.au 

brees@barwonhealth.org.au 

Neuroscience

Sharryn Savickas
Ph (03) 4215 0718
sharryns@barwonhealth.org.au

Oncology/Haematology

Sharon Jones & Sonja Gauci
Ph (03) 4215 2758 
hottmanager@barwonhealth.org.au 

ICU Clinical Trial Research

Jemma Trickey & Michelle Horton 
Ph (03) 4215 1729 / 0403 603 545
jemma.trickey@barwonhealth.org.au

michelle.horton@barwonhealth.org.au

Mental Health

Olivia Dean
Ph (03) 4215 3300
olivia.dean@barwonhealth.org.au

Palliative Care

Anna Dowd
Ph (03) 4215 5676
annado@barwonhealth.org.au 

Anaesthetics

Dr Andrew Marriott & Melissa Formica 
Ph (03) 4215 1901 / (03) 4215 1919
amarri@barwonhealth.org.au 

melissa.formica@barwonhealth.org.au

Surgery

Dr Eileen Moore
Ph (03) 4215 2001
eileen.moore@barwonhealth.org.au

Orthopaedics

Sally Beattie
Ph (03) 4215 2208
sallyb@barwonhealth.org.au

Emergency

Dr Julian Stella
Ph (03) 4215 0107
julian.stella@barwonhealth.org.au

Paediatrics

Nicola Cooley
Ph (03) 4215 3389
nicola.cooley@barwonhealth.org.au 

 

Adrian Costa Clinical Trials Centre

Paul Lightfoot, Director
(03) 4215 3399
0400 563 849
paul.lightfoot@barwonhealth.org.au

Last Modified: Tuesday, 01 June 2021